Stewards

Role of a Steward

Local 52 Stewards are trained to represent and defend the interests of our members.

We encourage you to contact your Union Steward if you have any questions or concerns regarding your contract or the Employer's actions. If you are not sure if you have a grievance or if you wish to file a grievance, please contact a Union Steward as soon as possible. There are time limits for filing a grievance that must be met (10 business days) in order for your grievance to be filed.

The only process available for enforcing the Collective Agreement is for you to file a grievance. While we will always attempt to resolve issues informally, sometimes a grievance is the only way to get resolution to your issues.

If you have any questions about the Collective Agreement, or if you need representation at a disciplinary, investigative or other meeting, please contact a Union Steward from the list below.

In addition to the Union Stewards listed below, Local 52 has a Chief Union Steward. If you are unable to contact a Union Steward, you can reach the Chief Steward via email at chiefstewardlocal052@aupe.ca. You may also call the Local 52 office at (403) 220-8511 and leave a  message. Messages are checked regularly.

If your matter is urgent and you require immediate assistance, please contact AUPE at 1-800-232-7284.

Interested in becoming a Union Steward? If you genuinely want to be involved in your Local and help your fellow workers, consider taking the courses offered by AUPE to start your journey toward becoming a Union Steward.

NameEmailPhone Number
Lorinda Hammond
Chief Steward
chiefstewardlocal052@aupe.ca
403-220-8511
Blaine VandeKerKhove
AUPE Membership Services Officer (MSO)
for
Chapter 1 OP/ADMIN
Chapter 4 Technical
b.vandekerkhove@aupe.org
1-800-232-7284
Walter Porochnuk
AUPE Membership Services Officer (MSO)
for
Chapter 2 General/Trades
Chapter 3 Specialist/Advisors

w.porochnuk@aupe.org1-800-232-7284
Barbara Smith*
Spy Hill
blsmith@ucalgary.ca
Christina Johnston
Caretaking
johnstoc@ucalgary.ca
403-554-7421
Donald Walker
EH&S
walkerdg@ucalgary.ca
403-210-6214
Frank Snow
Facilities
snow@ucalgary.ca
403-620-7254
Gerald Herter
Facilities
grherter@ucalgary.ca
403-899-9671
JP Arsenault
Facilities
jprarsen@ucalgary.ca403-899-8741
Jenn McCarthy*
Foothills Campus
jdmccart@ucalgary.ca403-220-3712
Jesse Murray
Facilities
jtcmurra@ucalgary.ca
403-613-3041
Jessica Daigle*
Social Sciences
jdaigle@ucalgary.ca403-220-5920
Justin Huseby
Anywhere
chairlocal052@aupe.ca
403-512-6069
Marla Halsted
TFDL
marla.halsted@ucalgary.ca
403-210-6201
Muzaffar Mian
Foothills, IT
mmian@ucalgary.ca
403-210-7571
Paulette Harrison
BioSci
pmharris@ucalgary.ca
403-220-3161
Peter Byrne
Anywhere
pbyrne@ucalgary.ca
403-200-3352
Renata Gordon
MacEwan Hall
rgordon@ucalgary.ca403-210-6446
Tracy MacIntosh
Facilities, Medicine
tmacinto@ucalgary.ca403-899-8927

*Temporarily unavailable.

Screen shot 2015-09-11 at 8.33.19 PM